The Organization of the iwb

From the fields of engineering, electrical engineering, physics, IT and business administration about 80 research associates are employed by the iwb. Around 25 employees active in the iwb’s workshops, laboratories and administration ensure that the solutions are both implemented and long-term available. In addition, around 200 student assistants support the iwb.

The iwb is organized in a matrix form. The departments and the service centers are offset by the research areas. The institute is managed by the management board, right now consisting of Professor Michael Zäh and Professor Rüdiger Daub as well as numerous experienced assistants. It is here that the strategic orientation of the institute is decided and the implementation of its orientation is planned.

Management Board

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael F. Zäh

Chair of Machine Tools and
Manufacturing Technology

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rüdiger Daub

Chair of Production Technology and
Energy Storage Systems

M. Sc. Sophie Grabmann
Head of Department

Battery Production

M.Sc. Martina Elisabeth Sigl
Head of Department

Machine Tools

M. Sc. Lukas Tanz
Head of Department

Assembly Technologies & Robotics

M. Sc. Siegfried Bähr
Head of Department

Additive Manufacturing
Laser Technologies

M. Sc. Marc Wegmann
Head of Department

Production Management and Logistics

M. Sc. Sarah Wagner
Head of Department

Sustainable Production

M. Sc. Michael Kick
Head of Finances and Metallography

Employees of the iwb